Final Fantasy Remakes

FFRemakes

So Final Fantasy XII is getting a HD remake, remaster, ultimate edition, whatever and it looks awesome.

“FINAL FANTASY XII THE ZODIAC AGE coming in 2017 on Playstation 4. http://www.finalfantasyxii.com FINAL FANTASY XII THE ZODIAC AGE brings enhancements to the classic FINAL FANTASY┬« XII, now more beautiful and easier to play than ever. The high-definition remaster introduces several modern advancements, including a reconstructed battle design and a revamped job system.”

So they updated and modernized the graphics to the standard HD resolutions and tweaked the gameplay a bit. That’s cool, now new fans can get into it and old fans can enjoy it again on a modern system. But I’m not here to advertise that… I’m here to complain about how Square Enix is handling the Final Fantasy VII Remake.

Why can’t they do this for the Final Fantasy VII remake?

Seriously, why does it have to be episodic? Why did it seem like they got rid of the turn based battle system? Well you could say it’s because they have to remake the game from scratch, they’re not just porting it to a new system(they already did that) but… that doesn’t mean you have to expand the story and claim that it’s so big it won’t fit into one game, and ditch the turn based combat in order to appeal to a wider audience. Did they say any of that for XII’s remake? No. I don’t know about you but what I want from the VII remake is what they are doing for XII’s. I want to see modern updated graphics (because the old graphics, while have their charm, didn’t age well), the same great story, maybe some tweaks to the gameplay mechanics, and all in one package.

Why are they treating VII’s remake so differently than other Final Fantasy remakes? Because its “more popular” than the others?

It seems like to me they are just milking as much money as they can out of it. Same reason why The Hobbit was 3 movies, the 3rd Hunger games was split into 2 movies,┬á and the 3rd Twilight was split into 2 movies. I can’t believe I just mentioned Twilight on my blog…

Well anyways, I’m still excited that it’s even happening. I just hope it turns out to be better than it sounds right now, or Square listens to the feedback they’ve received from the internet.

What do you think?

-Wickk

 

btw I know the difference between a “remake” and a “remaster”, but to me they pretty much mean the same thing.

2 thoughts on “Final Fantasy Remakes”

  1. I’m getting a bit overwhelmed with remakes/remasters/etc. in general. Don’t get me wrong, I love the way some of the remasters look, but I’d rather look forward to new games in general.

    Like

Leave a Reply

