Sorta Fast!!! Review: The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion

Oblivion was the follow up to Bethesda’s Morrowind

and brought huge improvements for the time. The game takes place in the Province of Cyrodiil, home of the Imperials.

The main story involves a few things:
1: The Emperor, Uriel Septim VII, was assassinated by the Mythic Dawn cult
2: Before he dies, he entrusts you, a nobody who was rotting in prison at the beginning of the game, to find an heir
3: Because there is no heir to the throne, an old  covenant is broken and gates to Oblivion have sprung up around with Daedra invading
4: Stopping Mankar Camoran, the Daedric prince that the Mythic Dawn worship, from taking over

-or- like all Bethesda games, you can ignore all of that.

You can put Hundreds of hours doing other things like, side quests, fighting in the Arena, buying a house, adventuring and stuff like that.

I have to be honest, I love Oblivion, but the game hasn’t aged well at all, and not just graphics, which by the way are reaaaaaaly ugly. You can tell immediately just by running around and moving the camera that this is an old, outdated engine. Combat is simple and clunky, but it works. I can’t say much for the magic system though, because I never used it.

The skill system works by picking your major and minor skills and the only way to level up is by using these skills. So be sure to only pick skills that you know you’ll use a lot. Otherwise leveling will be really slow. However on one hand, leveling doesn’t really matter. All the enemies are scaled to your level, so if you stay low leveled, you’ll only ever be fighting easy enemies. But who wants to be weak the whole game?

The environments are beautiful, even to this day.

It’s the character models, faces and animations that look dated. Mods can fix this if you can’t look past them. Mods fix just about anything you don’t like about the vanilla game. I highly recommend nexusmods if your looking for mods.

So all that being said, the dated everything, I still really love this game. I have a lot of fond memories playing it. I can remember the first time I laid eyes on Oblivion. My friend came over and wanted to show me this game on PC. It was awesome, I fell in love, borrowed it and puts tons of hours into it. Until Skyrim came along.

So is it worth checking out? Absolutely, if you a fan of TES and never played it, or if you like fallout, you’ll probably like oblivion. Its cheap on steam.

There is a lot of world to get lost in if you can get past a few things.

Go play it.

-Wickk

One thought on “Sorta Fast!!! Review: The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion”

  1. Nice! I haven’t played Oblivion, but I’ve played Morrowwind, and I didn’t really care for it. I have played Skyrim, though, and I’m really looking forward to the Special Edition! Great post. 🙂

    I’m actually the Community Content Manager for NowLoading.co, and I would be thrilled if you considered cross posting your stuff to our platform. If you don’t know much about us- we’re the same team behind Movie Pilot, and push to give awesome writers (like yourself) the exposure they deserve. Feel free to email me! My email and more info is on my about page.

    Like

Leave a Reply

